RICHARD FRY

Reader Reviews

Thanks for reading my book. It would be great if you could leave a review here so other people could see what you thought about it. Also, please tell people what you thought on Facebook and Twitter and other social networks. Thank you.

Reader Reviews of Life and Death by Dave

  1. Nostalgic, clever, and tragic. Genuinely funny yet at times heartbreakingly cruel. A thought provoking rollercoaster of a read. A stunnig debt novel.
    ( As an aside EVERY teenager should read this, there is a lesson................(or ten) to learn.

    (Posted on 2014-04-02 23:00:00 by Kate Curtis)
  2. A fantastic first novel by Fry. The first person narrative style has both a brutal honesty and an intimacy, so that the reader cannot help but be drawn in. Cleverly, Fry made me feel like protagonist Dave's best friend. Heartbreaking and hilarious in equal measure.

    (Posted on 2014-03-30 11:45:00 by Sarah Finigan)
  3. Loved it! Brilliantly written with all the emotional buttons pressed. Hilarious and tragic with everything in between. Can't wait for Fry's next book, play, artwork and anything else from this very talented and creative man.

    (Posted on 2014-03-28 20:50:00 by Wendy Retzlaff)
  4. Richard makes me cry, laugh, feel incredibly angry about the injustice in the world then hazily nostalgic, all in the space of a couple of sentences. His understanding of language and speech cadence is second to none. He is a master storyteller, and has enormous heart to boot. I have now bought this book for five friends, and will continue to do so, and to shout about how brilliant he is, until he gets the recognition he absolutely deserves. In short, he is amazing.

    (Posted on 2014-03-28 16:13:00 by Sam Espensen)
  5. I've never read a book where what happens to the hero matters so much to me. I laughed and cried and despaired and rejoiced with him.... Dave is a very real hero and this is a film waiting to be made!

    (Posted on 2014-03-27 17:03:00 by Amanda Carrara)
  6. Simply amazing, beautiful and hilarious.
    A real rollercoaster.
    Read it in a couple of days could not put it down.
    A must read.

    (Posted on 2014-03-27 13:24:00 by Hollie)
  7. Hilarious, heartbreaking and highly recommended.

    (Posted on 2014-03-27 13:19:00 by Stuart Riley)
  8. This book is a heartbreaking work of genius that deserved every tear, both happy and sad, that I shed while reading. A beautiful piece of work. Thank you, Richard.

    (Posted on 2014-03-27 13:00:00 by John Maurice)
  9. Read this fab book in no time at all. Funny, heartwrenching, life affirming, thought provoking - what more could you ask for! A great offering from a talented writer. Well done Sir! xx

    (Posted on 2014-03-27 11:00:00 by Maureen McKendrick)
  10. This book was very compulsive. I read it in two days then felt stupid I'd finished it so quickly coz I wanted more! I loved how Dave was a victim without being a 'victim'. There was no sentimentality just wry humour and a tough spirit. Loved it. When's the next one coming out?!

    (Posted on 2014-03-27 09:53:00 by Susan)
  11. Absolutely fantastic.
    I read the whole book in one go, I just couldn't put it down.
    The fact that every copy is unique is a bonus.
    Richard is mighty fly for a Fry guy.

    (Posted on 2014-03-27 09:35:00 by Kevin O'Neil)
  12. Um... a bit gobsmacked actually. Dave really got under my skin. I wish I could call him and talk to him. Shit. I really hope he's ok. This is fiction, right? Some parts of it are so real, I don't know if it is real or just very, very clever. I'm going to have to read it again. I haven't been so moved since The Diving Bell and The Butterfly. Can't say I'm altogether happy about that. So weird. The style of the book is so lighthearted but I feel left with a burden. Perhaps it's just me. This is fiction, right?

    (Posted on 2013-07-12 23:35:00 by BS)
  13. I literally wanted to laugh, cry, sympathise and rampage all at the same time! The humorous dry wit, unapologetic opinions, graphic details of Dave's experiences all make one hell of a roller coaster ride of reading.

    I knew I was not going to be disappointment, considering how highly Mr. Fry is spoken of by others (in partciular another Mr. Fry). Simple, but absolutely mind blowing.

    Well fucking done!

    (Posted on 2013-03-29 12:21:00 by Patricio the Fuzzy Nerd)
  14. I pretty much knew I'd love this book before I started reading it - I've loved all of your plays and always admired the way you write - and I wasn't disappointed. You perfectly capture the 70's and the 80's and I really enjoyed reliving some of my own history through the book. Obviously the subject matter is heart-wrenching but your writing was spot-on - never overly sentimental even when every bone in my body was willing Dave to walk away. I can't wait to see what you do next.

    (Posted on 2013-03-21 16:57:00 by Tracey B)
  15. Finished reading it a week ago and still thinking about it! It really got under my skin. I'm going to give it to my son to read.

    (Posted on 2013-03-20 21:52:00 by Sarah Collins)
  16. I saw Smiler in Edinburgh which I loved, that's why I bought this book. It was everything I anticipated and more. You have a certain sweetness about you that just pervades even the darkest moments, it doesn't diminish them, it actually adds weight to them, I could see your eyes getting glassy as you narrated it in my head. I was completely drawn in to Dave's story, I laughed with him, I cried with him and now I really miss him. It's an important voice that you have. I will be telling people to read this story.

    (Posted on 2013-03-20 12:31:00 by Darren Bill)
  17. Music references are spot on. Nobody knows his music like Dave! Scary how much I can relate to this and a) I'm a girl b) I'm born 6,800 miles from the West County c) never been camping in my life! Excellent book, I am going to read it all over again!

    (Posted on 2013-03-18 11:16:00 by Preety)
  18. A wonderful book which everyone should read x

    (Posted on 2013-03-16 23:05:00 by Janice)
  19. I read your book after reading Stephen Fry's tweet. I'm really glad I did. I read it in two sittings, it just hooked me right in with its personal approach and unpretentious style. I loved Dave but was torn by a few of his actions and opinions, this made him so real to me. Your writing is brave and bold but without getting too preachy, it's also a lot of fun and very sad. So many conflicting emotions! One of my favourite books of recent times (and I'm a big reader). Thank You.

    (Posted on 2013-03-16 16:55:00 by James S)
  20. I really loved your book. I didn't expect to laugh so much and I really digged all the pop culture references - I'm a pop junkie too. So many things I related to. It's very clever writing, you even helped me make sense of a couple of things. Thank you.

    (Posted on 2013-03-16 11:19:00 by Paul)
  21. Just finished the book, a brilliant debut. Thoughtful, moving and laugh out loud funny (yes, I really did LOL!) Already looking forward to the next one...

    (Posted on 2013-03-15 20:42:00 by David Baxter)
  22. Ok, so even though the form asks for your email, it doesn't display it with your comment. Brill.

    (Posted on 2013-03-14 16:53:00 by Richard Fry)
  23. This is a test.

    (Posted on 2013-03-14 16:52:00 by Richard Fry)

You are viewing the text version of this site.

To view the full version please install the Adobe Flash Player and ensure your web browser has JavaScript enabled.

Need help? check the requirements page.


Get Flash Player